Sun , 19 May 2019

2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers - India Football team announced for Iran encounter

NEW DELHI: A list of 22 Players left India on Monday (March 21) morning for the forthcoming match against Iran in Russia 2018 World Cup Preliminary Joint Qualification Round 2 slated to be played on March 24.

Six Players from the list of 28 Probables announced earlier including an injured Captain Sunil Chhetri didn’t travel with the squad to Tehran.
“We had to take some bold decisions and we have to travel to Tehran without our influential Captain Sunil Chhetri,” National Coach Stephen Constantine told “He will be badly missed.”
Chhetri has been ruled out following a groin injury which he had picked up earlier in the Hero I-League.
“The injury is such that it requires him to take necessary care and that requires him to stay back in India and get treated,” Constantine explained.
A “disappointed” Chhetri couldn’t recall as to when he “last missed an International match due to injury.”
“I was sitting at my room trying to recall as to when I last missed a National team match for injury. It’s so disappointing. It’s such an important match for us and I still can’t believe that I would be missing it,” Chhetri told
“The Gaffer had a chat with Gigy-Sir (Team Physio Gigy George) and decided to leave me out of the squad to enable me time to get treated and get ready for the next game,” he informed.
“At the moment it is obviously not a good feeling to have missed the bus but maybe in the long run, it will probably be for good.”
Meanwhile, Chhetri lauded Constantine’s initiative of summoning Dhanpal Ganesh and Robin Singh to get their rehabs assessed, monitored, checked and advised by the Medical Staff of the National Team.
“I am touched at the solidarity and support shown to the Payers. It is a great initiative by the Coach to send the message about the care for his Players,” he stated. “The support from the AIFF means a lot to the Players especially when one is injured,” he added.
Besides Chhetri, TP Reheneesh, Rino Anto, Allwyn George, Malsawmzuala and Md. Rafique have been dropped for the match against Iran.
“There may be one or two additions to the squad for the Turkmenistan match. But at the moment we are concentrating our next match against Iran,” Constantine informed.
The squad list of 22 for the match against Iran is as follows:
GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Karanjit Singh.
DEFENDERS: Aiborlang Khongjee, Augistine Fernandes, Arnab Mondal, Pritam Kotal, Sandesh Jhingan, Narayan Das, Lalchhuanmawia.
MIDFIELDERS: Pronay Halder, Bikash Jairu, Cavin Lobo, Rowlin Borges, Francis Fernandes, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Udanta Singh, Vineet Rai, Seityasen Singh.
FORWARDS: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Halicharan Narzary.
Head Coach: Stephen Constantine.
Courtesy- AIFF Media